Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIIT) Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2020 Passed in Rajya Sabha; 5 IIITs declared as INIs

New Delhi, September 22| IIITs Bill 2020: The upper house of parliament, Rajya Sabha, today passed the Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIIT) Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2020. The bill amends the Indian Institutes of Information Technology Act, 2014 and the Indian Institutes of Information Technology (Public-Private Partnership) Act, 2017. The Bill declares the 5 IIITs situated at Agartala, Bhagalpur, Bhopal, Raichur and Surat as institutions of National Importance. The bill will place these IIITs in the same league as existing 15 IIITs, covered under IIIT (PPP) Act, 2017. Currently, these IIITs were functioning as Societies registered under the Societies Registration Act of 1860.

Indian Institutes of Information Technology Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2020 has already been passed by Lok Sabha in the previous session on March 20, 2020.


The Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIIT) Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2020 will empower these 5 IIITs along with 15 other IIITs, which are also built on public-private partnership (PPP) mode to grant degrees with the nomenclature of Bachelor of Technology (BTech.), Master of Technology (MTech) or PhD. It will also enable the institutes to attract students required to develop a strong research base in the country in the field of information technology.

Introducing the bill in the upper house, the Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank said, “We have brought the proposal before this House to bring five new operational institutes which are located and have started operations in Surat (Gujarat), Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh), Bhagalpur (Bihar), Agartala (Tripura) and Raichur (Karnataka) to bring under this act,” The Education Minister further said that bringing the five new institutes under IIITs Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2020 will make them institute of national importance and they will have legal right to issue diploma, degree, PhD etc. It will encourage the IITs to promote the study of information and technology in the country through their innovative and quality methods

The bill was supported by the members in the upper house. BJP MP Kamakhya Prasad Tasa thanked the government for including the institute in Agartala in the bill. Dr Sasmit Patra from Biju Janta Dal conveyed support to the bill on behalf of his party.

For more news related to Education follow Edubullet on : Edubullet Twitter Edubullet Facebook Edubullet Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *